EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage

At Waverton Day Nurseries we support and encourage the children to learn and develop using the Early Years Foundation Stage as our framework.

This is a play-based curriculum for children from birth to five years, which allows children to explore and learn in an environment that is secure and safe, yet challenging. Play opportunities are non-stereotypical and available to all children promoting the teaching and learning from a skilled workforce.

All Ofsted-registered early years providers, along with schools must follow EYFS structure of learning, development and care set out by the Government.

The EYFS framework guides the work of practitioners to provide activities through games and play to then make assessment judgements based on the seven areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Research into early child development shows that children learn more rapidly during their first three years than in later life; whilst all areas of learning are important and inter-connected, the three Prime areas that are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, building their capacity to learn and form relationships and thrive. The specific areas will enable them to be self-motivated learners who are confident to succeed.

Practitioners will consider the individual needs, interests, and stage of development of each child in their care, and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience for each child in all of the areas of learning and development.

Practitioners working with the youngest children will focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. The three prime areas reflect the key skills and 9 capacities all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school.

Each area of learning and development will be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.

The EYFS emphasises that parents are a child’s primary educator and therefore encourages parents to contribute to their child’s learning. This along with high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

We believe in patience and we allow our children to learn at their own pace, enabling children to maximise their potential and encouraging them to become autonomous learners.

Parents are children’s first and most enduring educators.